My first blog… EVER!!

Hello, my dear spring rolls! I am so nervous because this is my very first blog! To be honest with y’all, I have no clue about blogs but I DO know one thing. And that one thing is that I love to write. Writing is one of my very few passions besides sleeping and eating.

In this first blog of mine, I think it will make a lot of sense if I tell y’all about how I got the name “lolrolling”.

A lot of the people I know… okay, fine, everyone I know, asks me what “lolrolling” is. It started when I was initiating a new account on some website. It said that my old username, that I wanted to make it my username on that account, is too long. TOO LONG. “Rollingshabon” is long? … Okay, I am Japanese crazed (started since way too young and no regrets! I love anime!), so I kind of self-studied the language until the age of 17 when I got into Chulalongkorn University where I started officially studying Japanese as a minor.

SO! Shabon (シャボン) means soap. Doesn’t make sense, huh? But if it is Shabondama (シャボン玉) it means soap bubble. Thus, it means rolling soap bubbles. Cute, huh? At least when I started the “rollingshabon” username, I had it in the right mind to not go all the way and type in “Rollingshabondama”. I mean, ack! Don’t you think so?

tumblr_lwyf4wjdtd1r90zqao1_500

So I had to change it. I can’t just have, like, a thousand usernames, I would lose track of the names since I am quite forgetful. But mind you, I was thirteen or something and my mind was – or still is – very cluttered with a lot of useless crap. Mindlessly, I kept the rolling and added L.O.L. in front of it. So, VOILA! “LOLROLLING” was born and it stuck!

And also, L.O.L. is an abbreviation of “Laugh Out Loud”, obviously. So laugh out loud while rolling? It may be closest to “R.O.F.L.” or “Roll on floor laughing.”… Get it?

 

Leave a Reply

